AIA Amarillo Announces New Officers

Melissa Walker and Wendy Weatherly

Local architects and members of AIA Amarillo, a chapter of the American Institute of Architects, have elected six officers to represent the chapter in 2017.

“AIA is a great organization and provides networking and continuing education opportunities for people in our industry,” said incoming president Melissa Walker, AIA, LEED AP BD+C. “We’re looking forward to another great year under our new leadership.”

The new officers include Melissa Walker, an Associate / Architect at Dekker/Perich/Sabatini, and D/P/S architect Wendy Weatherly. Melissa will serve as President of AIA Amarillo, and Wendy will be the new Vice President of Development.

The positions of president-elect, secretary, treasurer, and associate director will be filled by Dan Purdy, Kim Hooker, Amber Buscarello, and Kerry Bender, respectively.

AIA Amarillo, which serves as the voice of architecture in 25 counties of the Texas Panhandle, held the election on November 10. Officers will assume their various roles on January 1, 2017 and will serve for two years.